Life of Service

 

Start and keep on going till reaching the goal or taking a detour

 

 

Yesterday, I talked about the need to take first step & start on a path rather than wishing for a lofty goal.  Sometimes after starting and going on for a while, we may choose to take a detour or go on a hiatus for various reasons.  When we decide to get back in the game, we may think:

  • What should I do? 
  • Is it too late?
  • Do I have what it takes or have I missed the bus?
  • Should I rejoin the game or sit out & pout?

Why am I even writing about this?  Well, I am sharing my thoughts with you while finding answers for myself.   I am at a crossroads where I need to start on a path, even if it requires detours after only 2 steps.  As I am mulling over my choices, I came across this TED Talk – Ek Nayi Soch hosted by ShahRukh Khan.  Let us grab a cup of coffee and watch it together.  After that, we can talk about Dr. Dhillon, her life of service and others remarkable people like her.  She sure is an inspirational lady.

 

 

 

 

To continue our dialogue, would you prefer to leave a link to your blog in comments so we can visit you?  Thank you.


Come join us at Two Writing Teachers to connect with others and share a Slice of Life  every Tuesday and whole month of March. #SOL18Slice of Life

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

7 thoughts on “Life of Service

  1. “Do good and cast it in the river.”
    I’m thinking of this phrase that her parents told her, which guided her life, and appreciate how she moved into service whole-heartedly, with no designs on profit or celebrity (it seems). She no doubt benefitted from being in a family and place where she could do this work, too.

    “I was 53 when I got my identity back.”
    Her story is one for much of the world, right? (And coincides nicely with International Women’s Day). Women put their lives on hold, either voluntarily or compulsory, for the men in their lives. Interesting that she uses “identity” here (or at least, in the translation).

    “They had nothing but a deep beauty and strength.”
    How we see others shapes who we are. Her work in Sudan sounds terrifying and amazing. Her presence made a difference, right? And she seems like she was always learning about people, so she could learn about herself.

    “… adjust, adapt and negotiate …” through difficulties.
    We must.

    Kevin

  2. I’m going to have to wait til later to watch this (subbing in a classroom at the moment) but I feel like it’s never to late to learn something new, try something new, even if there are detours or obstacles.

    • Brain,

      Thanks. You are right on the mark. Being a Mom, I can’t afford to sit and pout; my kids will not let me & I would not want to let them down. Besides, I am trying to live by the lines I read in Jane Yolen’s book Devil’s Arithmetic

      “If not me? Who?
      If not now, Why?”

      Recently, these lines were
      misattributed and resulted in tweeter finger pointings, trolling, clarification and whole shabang.

      Besides, this is the best time for teaching and assisting to shape our future (citizens). I have to join the exceptional educators else I will regret it.

      Peace (in conversations)

      Purviben

  3. I’ll have to come back to watch later, as the link isn’t working for me right now. I so appreciate how you invite others into conversations and share your thoughts in your ongoing comment replies.

    • Molly,

      Google ” Ek Nayi Soch Dr. Dhillon” or click on link below.

      https://goo.gl/PEoDZ8

      Ek Nayi Soch means a new way of thinking. One of the big celebrity in India, ShahRukh Khan is hosting the TED Talks – Ek Nayi Soch. Usually, when I see Ted Talks on Youtube or TED site, there is no speaker intro – we have to read them. In Ek Nayi Soch, SRK introduces the speakers and engages with them. I hope after watching Dr. Dhillon’s talk, you will also view some other.

      Best wishes.

      Purviben

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *