Book Review: Add One More Star to the Night

My goal for 2018 is to read 100 books. 

I enjoy picture books and read them by dozens. 

What kind of picture books you ask?  Which authors? 

Here is one of them.

 

If you're afraid of the Dark, Add one more start to night

 

Painting a star in the sky!! Rather than cursing the darkness, let us shine a light.  Good idea, ya?  Cooper Edens dances on his own drum while encouraging us to skip along when encountering bumps in the road. His If you’re Afraid of the Dark, Remember the Night Rainbow and follow up If you’re Afraid of the Dark, Add one More Star to the Night are so full of joy, humor and sheer hope that I have to share the later with you. 

 

 

If you can't find your marbles, enlarge the game

“If you can’t find your marbles….

                                                                 enlarge the game.”

 

 

How many times we find ourselves lost, discouraged  and shaking our head with perceived constraints?  How about rather than looking at our or others deficiency, we expand our game & look at new ways to solve the problem or creating whole new ball game? 

 

 

If your rabbit has trouble finding you...practice your carrot calls

“If your rabbit has trouble finding you

                                                           practice your carrot calls”

 

 

Yup! If I forget everything else, let me remember the rabbit call. Let me meet my students, my kids where they are. Let me make sure I am enticing them to learn by providing fun opportunities not just the shackles of standardized test.  Rather than blaming social media, let me watch YouTube videos my kids like & discuss them. Go where my kids’ interests are rather than asking them to follow my choices.  Let them teach me MineCraft, Terraria & I can teach my kids via games not just books & lectures. Let me practice my rabbit call and keep tweaking it.

 

Your turn: Share a book that tugs at your heart & fills you with hope in comments below.

 

Peace & Joy (in Reading & getting lost in a book)

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Add One More Star to the Night

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *